(2012)Andy Kong : Fun to make stuff

Fun to make stuff

Robotics is an integration of different technologies. My first robot was built in 1998. It was for my second year project in UBC – fire fighting robot. Then, I started building robots for fighting (Botbash.com, Arizona), maze robot (Seattle Robotics), automation, bipedal robots (Japan)… My full-time job is R&D for different companies. From Laser Ethernet, wireless stuff, smart antenna, FPGA, parallel processing, imaging processing to Big LED screen and smog detection system. Now, I’m into 3D drawing and make it into real objects. Here is my website, www.andykong.com. My email is andykong51@gmail.com. Let me know if you are into robots, 3D or paper crafts. I may be crazy but my dream is to build a really big robot. Anyway, some time, crazy people are the ones who actually change the world. haha

Gundam_Head

If you like to make a Gundam Robot Head, please follow these 4 steps.

1. Download this pdo file. http://www.tamasoft.co.jp/pepakura-en/gallery/gallerydetails.php?id=1281

2. Download and install Pepakura software (Free). http://www.tamasoft.co.jp/pepakura-en/download/viewer.html

3. Print it in your printer (I use A3 printer, I guess you can print it in A4 and stick them together.)

4. Cut the pieces out and use the Pepakura software as a guide of how to glue the pieces together.

You can use any paper, I prefer 250 gram paper. You can make it in a day.

If you encounter any problem, please email me with clear description and pictures. And if you make the mask, please take a picture and email me at andy@hkmakerfaire.com, Cheers.

Robot Club in UBC 1999

Robot Club in UBC 1999

Internet control 6 legged robot in 2000

Internet control 6 legged robot in 2000

Botbash 1999 In Arizona

http://www.flickr.com/photos/botbash/sets/72157608924470396/

Botbash 1999 In Arizona

Teaching in St. Georges High School

528568_10150712220412690_331409832_n

Designing my first Gundam head in 3D software



One of the big LED screens behind me

Designing another LED screen. Beta version in progress.
Andy_bel Andy_work

My work space at home

andy_lab

Lots of VHDL coding

One of a Gundam shield I designed and made.


Bill Clinton mask. (I think he doesn’t mind… :P)

My 2 meter tall papercraft Gundam (2013 March)

IMG_7409

IMG_7411IMG_7414IMG_7417

gundam_body

One response to “(2012)Andy Kong : Fun to make stuff

  1. Pingback: Makers 2012 | Hong Kong Mini Maker Faire

Leave a Reply

